Search
  • Kriss Marion

Video of WiWiC Summer Camp Lunch #1: Increase Pollinator Habitat

About 130 women joined together the last Thursday of May for our first Conservation Summer Camp Lunch Zoom. You can watch or re-watch Conservation Coach Sally Farrar and Pheasants Forever Farm Bill Biologist Britta Petersen on the Michael Fields Agricultural Institute YouTube Channel.


Please join our next state-wide Conservation Summer Camp Lunch zoom on June 24 from noon to 1pm. The topic, by popular demand, is Build Healthy Soil. Register for free.


Britta also included these resources:


Companion to Summer Camp Conservation Session, Increase Pollinator Habitat

May 27, 2021


Pheasants Forever and Farm Bill Biologists

Find a Biologist http://www.pheasantsforever.org/habitat/findbiologist.aspx

Pheasants Forever homepage https://www.pheasantsforever.org/

The WI PF Team’s FB page https://www.facebook.com/pheasantsforeverwisconsin

Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation

https://xerces.org/

Farming for Bees https://xerces.org/sites/default/files/2018-05/15-007_04_XercesSoc_Farming-for-Bees-Guidelines_web.pdf

Farming With Soil Life https://www.xerces.org/publications/guidelines/farming-with-soil-life

Nesting and Overwinter Habitat for Pollinators https://www.xerces.org/publications/fact-sheets/nesting-overwintering-habitat

Pollinator Plants https://www.xerces.org/publications/plant-lists/pollinator-plants-great-lakes-region

Cover Cropping for Pollinators https://www.xerces.org/publications/guidelines/cover-cropping-for-pollinators-and-beneficial-insects

Organic Site Preparation for Wildflower Plantings https://xerces.org/publications/guidelines/organic-site-preparation-for-wildflower-establishment

Pollinator Habitat Establishment https://xerces.org/publications/higs/upper-midwest-pollinator-meadow

Establishing Pollinator Meadows from seed https://xerces.org/publications/guidelines/establishing-pollinator-meadows-from-seed




Options for Citizen Science, Joining, Donations

Bumble Bee Brigade https://wiatri.net/inventory/bbb/

Monarch Joint Venture https://monarchjointventure.org/

The Prairie Enthusiasts https://www.theprairieenthusiasts.org/

Wisconsin DNR https://dnr.wisconsin.gov/topic/endangeredresources/pollinators.html

Pheasants Forever https://www.pheasantsforever.org/

Pollinator Partnership https://www.pollinator.org/takeaction

WI Monarch Collaborative https://wiatri.net/Projects/Monarchs/habitat.cfm

Other

WI’s 1938 Aerial photos https://maps.sco.wisc.edu/WHAIFinder/#7/44.750/-89.750

Site prep methods (PF Webinar) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ayqtG5O3GE&t=2s

Shrub planting methods (PF/Britta) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iY17CKgm6ws&t=11s

EVENT!

Bridging the Gap For Butterflies https://pfqf.myeventscenter.com/search/?days=0&query=bridging+the+gap

89 views0 comments